Ambassador Andrew Young to Receive Council for Quality Growth’s Prestigious Four Pillar Award

Friday, April 2nd, 2021

The Council for Quality Growth will honor Ambassador Andrew Jackson Young, former Ambassador to the United Nations and Chairman of the Andrew J. Young Foundation, with its 32nd annual Four Pillar Award. The prestigious Four Pillar Tribute recognizes an outstanding individual who demonstrates the ‘Four Pillars’ of leadership – Quality, Responsibility, Vision and Integrity – and exemplifies the Council’s mission of promoting balanced and responsible growth.

Young’s lifelong dedication to service is illustrated by his extensive leadership experience of over sixty-five years serving as a member of Congress, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations, Mayor of Atlanta, Civil Rights Leader, and ordained minister, among other positions.

“Ambassador Young has been a champion for education and economic opportunity, not only here in Atlanta, but across the nation and internationally,” said Council for Quality Growth President and CEO Michael Paris. “His lifelong focus on human rights has led to better lives for so many people. He is a shining example of what the Four Pillars stand for.”

“I’ve always felt at home here in Atlanta, having fought along side my fellow Civil Rights activists and being elected as Mayor of this great City. I’m humbled to receive this honor, and hope my legacy is more than just a story. It’s a call to action,” said Ambassador Young on receiving the prestigious award.

Doug Jenkins, the Council’s 2021 Chairman and Georgia Power’s Metro North Region Director also added that, “Ambassador Young not only embodies the Four Pillars of Leadership – he himself is a pillar of Atlanta, our state and this nation. He has given an immeasurable amount of his life to this community and so many others. We are honored to recognize the Ambassador with our Four Pillar Award.”

The Council for Quality Growth is still assessing when and how the 2021 Four Pillar Tribute will be presented. The event details will be announced as soon as possible based on the latest best-practices on the safety of social gatherings. The Council is proud to honor Ambassador Young with its Four Pillar Tribute. Sponsorship information is available at

About the Four Pillar Tribute:

For 32 years the Council for Quality Growth has paid tribute to an outstanding individual in the metro Atlanta region who exemplifies the Council’s mission of promoting balanced and responsible growth through an annual leadership tribute gala that recognizes the ‘Four Pillars’ of leadership – Quality, Responsibility, Vision and Integrity.

The Four Pillar Award and Tribute is an unparalleled honor that allows the opportunity for the metro Atlanta region and State of Georgia to celebrate the recipient’s significant contributions to quality of life, community leadership and economic development. The gala and award have come to be known as the highest honor bestowed for the contributions. The event provides a platform to align the honorees’ impacts on the region and the state with the Council’s ambitions and serves as a beacon of inspiration to perpetuate our economic prosperity.

Past recipients of the Council’s Four Pillar award include:

  1. 1990  Steve Reynolds

  2. 1991  Wayne Shackelford

  3. 1992  J.W. Benefield

  4. 1993  D. Scott Hudgens

  5. 1994  Wayne H. Mason

  6. 1995  Virgil R. Williams

  7. 1996  Paul A. Duke

  8. 1997  Jim Cowart

  9. 1998  J.D. Caswell

  10. 1999  A. Ray Weeks

  11. 2000  Richard L. Tucker

  1. 2001  Louise Radloff

  2. 2002  George Busbee

  3. 2003  F. Wayne Hill

  4. 2004  Charlie Brown

  5. 2005  Senator Johnny Isakson

  6. 2006  John Wieland

  7. 2007  John A. Williams

  8. 2008  Tom Cousins

  9. 2009  Mayor Shirley Franklin

  10. 2010  Arthur M. Blank

  11. 2011  R. Charles Loudermilk, Sr.

2012 Sam Massell
2013 John Portman
2014 Steve Selig
2015 Dan Cathy
2016 Jenny Pruitt
2017 Governor Nathan Deal 2018 Paul Bowers

2019 Larry Gellerstedt 2020 Doug Hertz