Speaker Ralston Announces Members of the House Rural Development Council

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Friday, April 21st, 2017

Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) announced the members of the House Rural Development Council. This council, which was created during the recent legislative session, will work with rural communities to find ways to encourage economic growth.

“Georgia is a growing and prosperous state, and we are thankful for that,” said Speaker Ralston.  “But that prosperity isn’t being felt in every community across Georgia. Some of our rural areas are still struggling, and we must do everything we can to help private businesses grow jobs in every corner of our state.”

Speaker Ralston has previously announced that the council will be co-chaired by Appropriations Chairman Terry England (R-Auburn) and Ways & Means Chairman Jay Powell (R-Camilla). Rep. Sam Watson (R-Moultrie), who chairs the House Rural Caucus, will serve as vice chair of the council.

The other members of the House Rural Development Council are:

  • Patty Bentley (D-Butler)

  • John Corbett (R-Lake Park)

  • Matt Hatchett (R-Dublin)

  • Mack Jackson (D-Sandersville)

  • Dominic LaRiccia (R-Douglas)

  • Eddie Lumsden (R-Armuchee)

  • Chad Nimmer (R-Blackshear)

  • Clay Pirkle (R-Ashburn)

  • Terry Rogers (R-Clarkesville)

  • Ed Rynders (R-Albany)

  • Darlene Taylor (R-Thomasville)

  • Bill Werkheiser (R-Glennville)

In addition, Speaker Ralston has named the following committee chairmen to serve as ex-officio members of the House Rural Development Council based on their subject-area expertise:

  • Brooks Coleman – Chairman of Education

  • Sharon Cooper – Chairman of Health & Human Services

  • Robert Dickey – Chairman of K-12 Education (Appropriations)

  • Penny Houston – Chairman of Economic Development (Appropriations)

  • Rick Jasperse – Chairman of Higher Education

  • Tom McCall – Chairman of Agriculture & Consumer Affairs

  • Butch Parrish – Chairman of Healthcare (Appropriations)

  • Don Parsons – Chairman of Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications

  • Jason Shaw – Chairman of Transportation & Infrastructure (Appropriations)

  • Ron Stephens – Chairman of Economic Development

  • Kevin Tanner – Chairman of Transportation