GACCE Announces 2015 Class of Georgia Certified Chambers

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Friday, November 20th, 2015

It’s an exciting time to be in the chamber of commerce industry and to be a chamber in Georgia.  Many chambers have risen to the challenge during these tough economic times to provide unparralled leadership and direction, helping their members and communities thrive.  This type of performance is a reflection of the solid organizational infrastructure built through much hard work and diligence.

In 2011, the GACCE Board of Directors sought a way to recognize chambers in the state that have focused internally on their operations to assess their strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities to create efficient, effective organizations positioned to deliver great value.  Thus the Georgia Certified Chamber program was created.

The purpose of the program is to facilitate continuing excellence in the chamber industry and to foster a pro-business environment across the State of Georgia.  Chambers must meet standards in organization, service intent and capacity, professional administration, financial management, communications, and advocacy in order to achieve the designation.

With over 150 chambers of commerce in the State of Georgia, the seven chambers that were recognized as Georgia Certified Chambers during the Opening Luncheon of the 2015 GACCE Volunteer Leader Conference held at the Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, GA on Monday, November 16 received a prestigious honor that distinguishes the high quality, expertise, and strong leadership displayed by accredited chambers.  These seven chambers join 47 other chamber members that have been recognized with this distinction over the past four years.

The following chambers of commerce make up the 2015 class of Georgia Certified Chambers:

1.           Covington-Newton County Chamber

2.           Dahlonega-Lumpkin County Chamber

3.         Dunwoody Perimeter Chamber

4.           Eatonton-Putnam Chamber

5.           Greater Columbus Chamber

6.           Gwinnett Chamber

7.           Sylvester-Worth County Chamber