Lt. Governor Duncan & Speaker Ralston Announce Appointments to Freight & Logistics Commission

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Thursday, May 16th, 2019

Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan and Speaker of the House David Ralston announced their appointees to the Georgia Freight & Logistics Commission. Created by House Resolution 37 in the 2019 legislative session, the Commission will study Georgia’s freight and logistics network and find ways to move freight more efficiently throughout Georgia spurring economic growth and job creation.

“Georgia’s economic prosperity has led to huge business and population growth,” said Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan. “However, in many areas of our state, that growth has led to highway congestion. The Freight & Logistics Commission will be charged with studying how we can harness the logistics industry to provide transportation solutions to Georgia’s businesses and citizens. Transportation efficiency is critical to Georgia’s economic future and I’m excited to work with the Commission as well as Governor Kemp and Speaker Ralston to continue delivering results.”

“With the world’s busiest airport and the nation’s largest and fastest growing container port right here in Georgia, our Freight & Logistics Commission will work to meet the growing demand to move freight throughout our state and beyond,” said Speaker Ralston. “Georgia has a strong competitive advantage over other states in freight and logistics, and we are going to grow our lead by investing in infrastructure and bringing industry partners together. I look forward to working with Governor Kemp and Lt. Governor Duncan to put the Commission’s recommendations into action.”

According to H.R. 37, the members of the Commission include three members of the Senate and three members of the House, six logistics professionals, four local government officials, and several leaders of organizations and state agencies.

Lt. Governor Duncan appoints Senate Transportation Chairman Sen. Brandon Beach (R – Alpharetta), Sen. Steve Gooch (R – Dahlonega) and Sen. Burt Jones (R – Jackson) to the Commission.  Sen. Beach has been designated as a Co-Chair of the Commission.

Speaker Ralston appoints House Transportation Chairman Rep. Kevin Tanner (R-Dawsonville), Rep. Calvin Smyre (D-Columbus) and Rep. Dale Rutledge (R-McDonough) to the Commission.  Rep. Tanner has been designated as a Co-Chair of the Commission.

The logistics professionals appointed by the Lt. Governor include Rebecca Brewster, President and COO of the American Transportation Research Institute; George Powers, President and CEO of TradePort Logistics LLC.; and Stephanie Smith, Vice President of Supply Chain Development for The Home Depot.

The logistics professionals appointed by Speaker Ralston include Brad Skinner, member of the Board of Directors of OmniTRAX; Rick Toole, Vice President & Georgia Division Manager at Alfred Benesch & Company; and Derrick Johnson, President of the South Atlantic Division for UPS.

Lt. Governor Duncan’s local government official appointees are Atlanta City Council President Felicia Moore and Lowndes County Commissioner Mark Wisenbaker, Jr.

Speaker Ralston’s local government official appointees are Mayor Eddie DeLoach of Savannah and Sole Commissioner Steve Taylor of Bartow County.

House Resolution 37 prescribes the following individuals are also appointed as members of the Commission:  Executive Director of the Georgia Municipal Association (or designee), Executive Director of the Association County Commissioners of Georgia (or designee), President or Chairperson of the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, President or Chairperson of the Metro Chamber, Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Transportation (ex-officio), and Executive Director of the Georgia Ports Authority (ex-officio).