New Leaders at State Transportation Board Selected

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Tuesday, August 20th, 2019

The State Transportation Board elected its new executive leadership team at their Board meeting on Thursday, Aug. 15. Tim Golden was named chairman; Rudy Bowen was named vice chairman; and Emily Dunn was named secretary. The new positions are effective immediately. Board elections are held annually to ensure that all regions of the state are represented at the executive leadership level.

Chairman Tim Golden

Represents the 8th Congressional District. He was most recently vice chair. Golden served 16 years in the Georgia State Senate prior to his election to the board in 2015. He also served seven years as a representative in the Georgia House. Golden, a business and civic leader, has been named three times to Georgia Trend’s 100 Most Influential Georgians list. He is a graduate of Valdosta State University. As chairman, Golden serves as ex officio member of all committees.

Vice Chairman Rudy Bowen

A community and civic leader who represents the 7th Congressional District. He was elected to the board in 2007 and most recently served as board secretary. Bowen attended the University of Georgia

Secretary Emily Dunn

Represents the 9th Congressional District on the State Transportation Board. She was elected to the board in 2011 and served as the first female chair in 2015-16. Dunn, a community and civic leader, has been named to the Engineering Magazine 100 Influential Women to Know list two years in a row. She is a registered nurse who received her BSN from North Georgia College.