Winners Announced for 2019 Georgia Automotive Awards

Staff Report From Georgia CEO

Tuesday, November 19th, 2019

The Georgia Department of Economic Development announced the winners of the fourth annual Georgia Automotive Awards. The Georgia Automotive Awards began in 2016 to honor the contributions of the automotive industry in Georgia and celebrate the outstanding suppliers and manufacturers who are building Georgia’s competitive edge in the automotive sector.

“Congratulations to the winners of the 2019 Georgia Automotive Awards,” said GDEcD Commissioner Pat Wilson. “The automotive industry in Georgia continues to drive innovation and growth in every corner of our state, with access to a top-ranked workforce and world-class business climate. The winners of this year’s awards represent some of the leading manufacturers and suppliers in the automotive sector, and I look forward to working with them to continue creating opportunity and maintain Georgia’s title as the No. 1 place in the nation to do business.”

This year, companies were recognized in the following categories: Automotive Innovation, Automotive Supplier of the Year, Community Impact and Leader of the Year. The winners were chosen by a panel consisting of representatives from the Georgia Economic Developers Association, Georgia Tech, Georgia Quick Start and other automotive industry experts.

The winners of the 2019 Georgia Automotive Awards are as follows:

Automotive Innovation Award

Conferred to the company that clearly demonstrates a commitment to excellence and innovation in their approach to solving a problem within the automotive industry.

Winner: Novelis, Inc. – Atlanta, Georgia

Automotive Supplier of the Year

A supplier to an automotive OEM, at any tier, that demonstrates strong growth and projections, which positively impact the overall economic health of the state of Georgia.

Winner: Inalfa Roof Systems – Acworth, Georgia

Community Impact Award

An automotive company that strongly demonstrates a high level of corporate citizenship in and around the local community and/or within the state of Georgia.

Winner: Decostar Industries, Inc., a division of Magna Exteriors – Carrollton, Georgia

Leader of the Year

A leader in the automotive industry who has devoted their time and effort to leadership and has demonstrated pride in the industry in Georgia.

Winner: Rick Walker, Georgia Automotive Manufacturing Association