Mayor Randall Walker Sworn in as Georgia Municipal Association President

Staff Report

Wednesday, June 28th, 2023

Mayor of Perry, Randall Walker, has been elected president of the Georgia Municipal Association (GMA) for 2023-2024. He was sworn in as president at GMA’s Annual Convention in Savannah on Sunday, June 25. 

Walker previously served as first, second and third vice president. GMA officers generally serve in all three vice presidential roles before ascending to the role of president. In addition to his three years of experience as a leader on GMA’s Board of Directors, Walker has previously chaired the Legislative Policy Council and Federal Policy Council. 

Serving as officers with Walker are:

  • Madison Mayor Fred Perriman, first vice president

  • College Park Mayor Bianca Motley Broom, second vice president

  • Young Harris Mayor Andrea Gibby, third vice president

  • Tifton Mayor Julie Smith, immediate past president

Young Harris Mayor Andrea Gibby, College Park Mayor Bianca Motley Broom, and Madison Mayor Fred Perriman were sworn in by GMA Chief Legal Counsel Rusi Patel.

GMA is proud to have Mayor Walker, Mayor Perriman, Mayor Motley Broom, Mayor Gibby and Mayor Smith as the leaders of the 2023-2024 Board of Directors.

The following GMA members were elected to the Board of Directors. Georgia mayors and councilmembers serve as leaders within GMA. Presidents and vice presidents chair key committees, serve as advocates for GMA’s interests on the state and federal level and help guide GMA initiatives. The following are the 2023-2024 Board of Directors:

Immediate Past President 

Mayor Julie Smith of Tifton  

Past Presidents 

Mayor Vince Williams of Union City 

Mayor Linda Blechinger of Auburn 

Mayor Keith Brady of Newnan 

Mayor Bill McIntosh of Moultrie  

Mayor John Reid of Eatonton 

District Officers 

Councilmember Kelly Bomar of Ringgold 

Commissioner Randy Quick of Rome  

Councilmember Robert (Buddy Moore) of Blairsville  

Mayor JoAnne Taylor of Dahlonega 

Councilmember Colin Ake of Woodstock  

Councilmember Victoria Jones of Lawrenceville 

Councilmember Stephe Koontz of Doraville 

Councilmember Sam Davis of Douglasville 

Mayor Edward Johnson of Fayetteville 

Councilmember Brett Reichert of Hapeville  

Councilmember Keisha Sean Waites of Atlanta  

Mayor William Pearman of Senoia  

Mayor Barbie Crockett of Centralhatchee  

Mayor David Keener of Social Circle  

Councilmember Eric Joyce of Madison 

Mayor Pro Tem Clifford Holmes of Warner Robins  

Councilmember Janie Reid of Eatonton  

Commissioner Jordan Johnson of Augusta  

Councilmember Danny Brown of Sandersville 

Councilmember Jesse Simmons of Fort Gaines 

Mayor James Carter of Woodland  

Mayor Timothy Varnadore of Baxley 

Councilmember Micah King of Glennville 

Mayor Jay Flowers of Thomasville 

Mayor Kelvin Owens of Camilla  

Councilmember Tommy Roberts of Fitzgerald  

Councilmember Carla Gibson-Wright of Alapaha  

Mayor Russ Deen of Guyton 

Councilmember Lisa James of St. Marys 

Directors At-Large 

Commissioner Shelly Berryhill of Hawkinsville 

Mayor Michael Caldwell of Woodstock 

Mayor Betty Cason of Carrollton  

Mayor Ollie Clemons of Austell 

Mayor Kelly Girtz of Athens-Clarke County 

Mayor Deana Holiday Ingraham of East Point 

Mayor Jason Holt of Fitzgerald 

Isaiah Hugley, City Manager, Columbus 

Mayor Michael-Angelo James of Waycross  

Mayor Garnett Johnson of Augusta 

Mayor Van Johnson of Savannah 

Mayor Jonathan McCollar of Statesboro  

Mayor Lester Miller of Macon-Bibb County 

Mayor Rusty Paul of Sandy Springs  

Chair of the Georgia Municipal Employees Benefit System Board of Trustees 

City Attorney Becky Tydings of Centerville  


Section Presidents 

L’Erin Barnes Wiggins, City Attorney of Hampton, Lovejoy and Riverdale - President of the GMA City Attorneys Section 

Chris Hobby, City Manager of Bainbridge – President of the Georgia City-County Management Association  

Regina Russell, City Clerk of Acworth – President of the Georgia Municipal Clerks Association 

Policy Committee Chairs  

Regina McDuffie, City Manager of Brunswick – Chair of the Community Development Policy Committee  

Councilmember Janie Reid of Eatonton – Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Policy Committee 

Mayor Anthony Ford of Stockbridge – Chair of the Municipal Government Policy Committee 

Mayor Eric Wilson of Forsyth – Chair of the Public Safety Policy Committee 

Mayor Skip Henderson of Columbus – Chair of the Revenue and Finance Policy Committee  

Mayor Michael Chidester of Byron – Chair of the Transportation Policy Committee 

Municipal Training Board Chair 

Mayor James Eubanks of Pelham