All But One of Georgia’s Congressional Incumbents Seeking Reelection

Dave Williams

Thursday, March 7th, 2024

Capitol Beat is a nonprofit news service operated by the Georgia Press Educational Foundation that provides coverage of state government to newspapers throughout Georgia. For more information visit

The four members of Georgia’s congressional delegation who didn’t sign up to run for reelection at the start of Qualifying Week on Monday traveled to the state Capitol Tuesday to qualify for another term.

Republican U.S. Reps. Buddy Carter of Savannah, Andrew Clyde of Athens, Mike Collins of Jackson, and Marjorie Taylor Greene of Rome signed qualifying papers on Tuesday.

With 13 of Georgia’s 14 congressional incumbents seeking reelection, only retiring Rep. Drew Ferguson’s seat in west-central Georgia is vacant. Not surprisingly, it has attracted a crowded field of candidates, with the GOP’s Jim Bennett of Carroll County and Michael Corbin of Peachtree Corners joining five other hopefuls in the 3rd Congressional District race.

Other challengers who qualified on the second day of Qualifying Week include Democratic state Rep. Mandisha Thomas of South Fulton, who will oppose incumbent Rep. Lucy McBath in the party’s May 21 primary, and Democrats Vince Watkins and Darrius Maurice Butler, who will vie for the right to oppose incumbent Rep. Austin Scott in the 8th Congressional District.

Republican Mike Pons will challenge incumbent GOP Rep. Barry Loudermilk in the 11th District, and two Democrats – Shawn Harris and Joseph Leigh – signed up Tuesday to run for their party’s nomination to challenge Greene.

Qualifying Week continues through noon on Friday.